• Google Search
  • Google Translate
Winscombe Primary School

EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

When your child joins Red class, they will be in the final year of the EYFS curriculum before moving onto the National Curriculum in Year 1. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning.


Children should develop the 3 prime areas first. These prime areas are essential for your child's healthy development. These are: 

- Communication and language

- Physical development

- Personal, social and emotional development


As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

- Literacy

- Mathematics

- Understanding of the world

- Expressive art and design